Skip to content ↓

Devonport High School for Girls

Name of Head of Department

Mr A Abbotts BA(Hons), PGCE

Introduction to the department

Religious Studies is integral to the school’s academic programme and also to our commitment to each child’s spiritual, moral, social and cultural development (SMSC). While we recognise that the UK is in the main Christian, as a department we study all the major faiths practised here and seek to allow all children the freedom to develop their own perspective.

Key stage 3 (Year 7 and 8) 

At Key Stage 3 we begin with an anthropological look at early or tribal religions, then move to encompass the beliefs and practices of Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism and Sikhism.

Key stage 4 (Year 9, 10 and 11) 

At key Stage 4 all children receive a broad religious education which is delivered through the pastoral programme, while those choosing to study it as a GCSE will follow the AQA syllabus A. This involves the in depth study of the philosophies, beliefs, practices and ethics of Christianity and Hinduism.

RS GCSE Qualification from AQA. ... GCSE Religious Studies A (8062) Teaching from September 2016. Exams from June 2018. 

Full details of the specification and assessment criteria can be found on the AQA website GCSE Religious Studies specification

Extra-curricular activities

In Year 7 all children visit Buckfast Abbey as part of a joint enterprise with the History and Art departments.