Skip to content ↓

Devonport High School for Girls

Governing body

Welcome to the Governors section of Devonport High School for Girls website.

The Governing Body is made up of parents/carers, staff and members of the local community who contribute a wide range of skills and experience and provide an independent viewpoint.  All Governors want to make a positive contribution to students’ education and to ensure that the school is run to promote student achievement.

The Governing Body is a corporate team and has three key functions.  We work with the school’s senior leadership team to:

  • Ensure that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined
  • Ensure the sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources

In addition, the Governing Body will:

  • Hold the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its students and the performance management of staff

The full Governing Body meets six times annually. There are also three subcommittees:

  • Finance & Resources
  • Pupil Progress, Welfare & Evaluation
  • Pay Committee

The Governing Body

Mr Lee Sargeant (Head Teacher and Accounting Officer) 

Mrs Heather Cotton (Vice Chair of Governors) 

Mrs Vikki Frost 

Mrs Olivia Grimes (Chair of Governors)

Mrs Ellen Blakeman 

Mr Shah Rahman 

Mr Warren O'Riley 

Mrs Julie Widdecombe 

Mrs Vanessa Harris 

Ms Helena Clarke

Ms Roni Jay

Mr Karl Smith

Mrs Katie Plant

If you wish to contact the Governors, please do so by sending a letter to the school addressed to either The Chair of the Governing Body or The Clerk to the Governing Body.  Alternatively please send by email to:

Governance Members

Mrs Olivia Grimes
Mrs Glynis Westcott
Mrs Shirley Williams

Additional Documents